Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Senior and first-year class council election results

September 23, 2020

In separate emails to the classes of 2021 and 2024, Vice President of the Bowdoin Student Government Harry Sherman ’21 announced the results of the respective class council elections Monday morning. Voting in both elections opened on Friday and closed Sunday at midnight.

Wayne Harding ’21 ran for class of 2021 president uncontested. Harding received 69 votes, and the “no vote” option received five votes. Only 74 members—or 14.7 percent—of the senior class voted in the election.

No candidates ran for the roles of Class of 2021 vice president, treasurer or programming director. Sherman wrote in the message to the Class of 2021 that a secondary process will take place to fill those roles.

In the Class of 2024 election, there were five candidates for president and three candidates for vice president. Both the treasurer and program director had one candidate respectively. In races where one candidate did not receive a majority in the first round, ranked-choice voting was used to determine a winner. Phillip al Mutawaly ’24 was elected as the Class of 2024 President after reaching a majority of votes in the third round.

President—Class of 2023

Round 1

Philip al Mutawaly       82

Anna Diaconu             51

Wilder Harwood           51

Gavin Kursman            33

Danny Haskell             7


Round 2

Philip al Mutawaly       96

Wilder Harwood           67

Anna Diaconu             61


Round 3

Philip al Mutawaly      122

Wilder Harwood          102


Vice President—Class of 2023

Round 1

Andrew Kaleigh                 93

Benjamin Sewell-Grossman       75

Isabella Kane                  56


Round 2

Andrew Kaleigh                129

Benjamin Sewell-Grossman       95

Isabella Kane                   0



Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

One comment:

  1. Class of 22 says:

    Yo where is the rest of the FY and the Senior results

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words