Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Britt elected BSG president in close race with low voter turnout

April 30, 2021

Ryan Britt ’22 will be the next president of Bowdoin Student Government (BSG) for the 2021-2022 academic year. Britt served as chair of student affairs for the 2019-2020 academic year and currently serves as the President of the Class of 2022. The race was close as Britt was victorious over Wilder Short ’22 by 32 votes.

The results were announced in an email to the Orient on Friday night. Only 456 students voted in the election—less than a quarter of the student body.

Due to COVID-19, all candidates campaigned virtually, mostly through social media. Candidates also participated in a virtual debate on Wednesday.

Of the contested races, Philip al Mutawaly ’24 was elected chair of academic affairs by 178 votes over Sophia Pantzer ’24. Luke Bartol ’23 was elected chair of sustainability and facilities by 26 votes more than Bella Turk ’24.

In uncontested races, Andrew Kaleigh ’24 was elected vice president, Miranda Baker ’24 was elected chair of student affairs, Carolina Escobar ’24 was elected chair of diversity and inclusion, Katalina Echavarri ’24 was elected chair of student organizations, and Anna Constantine ’23 was named chair of the treasury.

Ryan Britt ’22 is a columnist for the Bowdoin Orient.


Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words