Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Candidates for Congress, Senate to visit for debates

October 26, 2018

On Tuesday, Maine Public will host a series of debates at Bowdoin for Maine’s U.S. Senate race and 1st Congressional District race. The debates, which will take place in Studzinski Recital Hall, are part of the group’s initiative “Your Vote 2018.”

The U.S. Senate debate will start at 3 p.m. Doors will open at 2:30 p.m. The candidates include incumbent Senator Angus King (I-Maine), who was first elected to the seat in 2012 and is currently running for his second term. His challengers are Republican State Senator Eric Brakey, who represents District 20 in the Maine Senate, and Democrat Zak Ringelstein, a teacher who founded a program to help connect classrooms around the world and taught in the Portland Public School System from 2016 to 2017.

After the U.S. Senate debate, doors for the U.S. House District 1 debate will open at 5:30 p.m., and the debate will start at 6 p.m. The incumbent representative is Democrat Chellie Pingree, who is currently serving her fourth term. Her challengers are Republican Mark Holbrook, a clinical psychologist who was also the Republican nominee in 2016, and Independent Marty Grohman, who represents Biddeford in the Maine House.

Both debates will be hosted by Jennifer Rooks, public affairs host and producer for Maine Public Broadcasting Network. Although all the tickets for the Senate debate have been claimed, tickets for the House debate are still available on the debate’s Eventbrite posting, which can be found on Maine Public’s website. Tickets are free of charge.


Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words