Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Highlight Reel for March 3

March 3, 2023


A school-record 14 Bowdoin swimmers qualified for the NCAA DIII Championship. Alex Grand’Pierre ’25, Penn Lee ’25, Ethan O’Connor ’23, Jack Tran ’26 and Steve Ward ’24 on the men’s team qualified in selections announced last weekend. On the women’s side, Carolyn Casey ’26, Cassie Maroney ’23, Ella Martin ’24, Ella Riccio ’25, Anna Roberts ’23, Olivia Smith ’25, Elizabeth Walsh ’26, Brynn Wright ’26 and Tatum Zupnik ’24 qualified. The Men’s and Women’s Swimming NCAA DIII Championships will be held in Greensboro, N.C., from March 15 through March 18.


Nordic skiers Aggie Macy ’24 and Jordan Grialou ’26 qualified for the NCAA Skiing Championships, which will be held in Lake Placid, N.Y., beginning on March 8. Macy, Grialou and the rest of the Nordic skiing team finished seventh out of 11 teams last weekend at the St. Lawrence Carnival at Black Mountain in Rumford. Bowdoin was led by Morgan Richter ’24, who finished 14th in the freestyle 5K. Emma Crum ’26, Kira Gilbert ’26 and Grialou all finished in the top 30. Carson Williams ’24, Adam Carlisle ’25 and Ayden Nichol ’23 placed in the top 30 in the men’s freestyle 10K. The Polar Bears will compete against Bates College and Colby College today and tomorrow at the Chummy Broomhall Cup in Waterville.


On Monday, four players on the men’s and women’s squash teams received NESCAC honors for their performances this season. On the men’s team, Jack Winston ’25 was named a First Team All-NESCAC player for the second year in row. Winston had a 14–7 overall record this season at the number one position for the Polar Bears. Women’s team members Emma Watts-Roy ’25, Darcy Weber ’26 and Amanda Cowhey ’25 were all named Second Team All-NESCAC. Watts-Roy won five matches at the number one position. Darcy earned five wins in her rookie season, and Cowhey had eleven wins competing at the number three position for Bowdoin. It was both Watts-Roy’s and Cowhey’s second year in a row receiving the honor.


Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words