Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Highlight Reel for Nov. 10

November 10, 2017

Passing the mark: The football team (0-8) lost to Bates (2-6) this weekend in a close 17-24 match this weekend, causing Bates to claim the Colby-Bowdoin-Bates championship title for the sixth time in a row. Noah Nelson ’19 ended the game 34-55 with the third-most passes thrown and the second-most passes completed in a game in Bowdoin history. Bowdoin will finish their season at home against rivals Colby (0-8), marking the 129th time these two teams have met, on Saturday.

Over the net: The volleyball team (15-10, NESCAC 8-2) came back 3-2 after losing the first two sets of the match to beat Middlebury (16-9, NESCAC 5-5) in the NESCAC quarterfinals on Friday, but fell to Wesleyan (21-5, NESCAC 8-2) 1-3 in the semifinals the next day. Three players were honored in All-NESCAC awards. Kate Kiser ’21 was named NESCAC Rookie of the Year and she and Lisa Sheldon ’19 were named second team, while Caroline Flaharty ’20 was named first team.

Three musketeers: After upsetting No. 2 Tufts (11-5, NESCAC 8-2) in the quarterfinals, the field hockey team (10-7, NESCAC 5-5) lost to No. 1 Middlebury (16-2, NESCAC 9-1) 5-2. Middlebury had the advantage in shots, while Maddie Ferrucci ’21 made four saves compared to Middlebury’s two. The team also had three players recognized with All-NESCAC awards. Kara Finnerty ’20 and Elizabeth Bennewitz ’19 were named first team All-NESCAC while Juliana Fiore ’18 was named second team.

Smooth waters: The sailing team is competing in the Match Race Nationals this Friday in Charleston, S.C. for the first time in program history. The team qualified after coming in second in the New England Match Race Championship on October 14-15. Harrison Hawk ’18, Matt Safford ’20, Marie Bergsund ’20, and Alden Grimes ’21 will be competing for Bowdoin.


Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words