Go to content, skip over navigation


More Pages

Go to content, skip over visible header bar
Home News Features Arts & Entertainment Sports OpinionAbout Contact Advertise

Note about Unsupported Devices:

You seem to be browsing on a screen size, browser, or device that this website cannot support. Some things might look and act a little weird.

Volleyball claims NESCAC title

November 9, 2018

Courtesy of Brian Beard

The volleyball team took home its third NESCAC title in program history last weekend, extending its win streak to 17.

Ezra Sunshine
Ezra Sunshine

Even though they gave up the second set to Amherst in the championship match, the Polar Bears came back to dominate the court as they have all season and put away the win in four sets.

Ezra Sunshine

Many program alumni returned to campus for the match, bringing their spirited enthusiasm to the fan section.

Courtesy of Brian Beard

Courtesy of Brian Beard
Captain Sydney Salle '19 gets set up for the kill by Kate Kiser '21.
Ezra Sunshine
Kate Kiser '21 and Cori Gray '22 shut down the Amherst attack with a solid block.

The team also racked up a number of postseason awards. In addition to claiming three of the four major NESCAC awards, as seen below, they also had 4 players named to All-NESCAC teams; Lisa Sheldon ’19, Caroline Flaharty ’20 and Kate Kiser ’21 were named to the First Team and Ashley Williams ’21 was named to the second team.

Courtesy of Brian Beard
From left: NESCAC Coach of the year Erin Cady, NESCAC player of the year Caroline Flaherty ’20 and NESCAC defensive player of the year Lisa Sheldon ’19

This is the first year since 2015 in which players from the same team have earned the Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, the last occurrence being when Bowdoin secured its last title and Christy Jewett ’15 and Katie Doherty ’16 took home the honors.

The team now goes on to face Worcester State at 12:30 p.m. today in the first round of the NCAA tournament, with eyes set on going further than the Polar Bears ever have before.


Before submitting a comment, please review our comment policy. Some key points from the policy:

  • No hate speech, profanity, disrespectful or threatening comments.
  • No personal attacks on reporters.
  • Comments must be under 200 words.
  • You are strongly encouraged to use a real name or identifier ("Class of '92").
  • Any comments made with an email address that does not belong to you will get removed.

Leave a Reply

Any comments that do not follow the policy will not be published.

0/200 words