The men's and women's cross country teams ended their seasons successfully at the NCAA D-III championship in Winneconne, Wis. on November 19.

Coby Horowitz '14 earned All-American status by coming in 13th place overall with a time of 24:30 on the 8K course.

The race was won by Ben Sathre of the University of St. Thomas in Minnesota, who finished just 46 seconds earlier. As only one other sophomore—and no first years—finished ahead of Horowitz, he is well positioned to make a run for the overall title his senior year.

Captain Matt Hillard '12 and sophomores Sam Seekins, Nick Saba and James Boeding also scored for Bowdoin.

Bowdoin entered the race ranked No. 16, and improved upon that ranking to finish in 15th place. The last time the team qualified for nationals was in 2007, when they finished 20th.

Captain Colin Ogilvie '12 attributed the team's success this season to the way it practiced "running as a pack" in weeks prior, helping the runners feel more at ease during races.

"Running together helps us to push each other—when you're at the third or fourth mile, it's nice to see your other teammates near you," said Ogilvie.

Although the women's team did not qualify for the NCAA championship, two runners represented Bowdoin in the 6K race: Madelena Rizzo '14 and Olivia MacKenzie '13. Rizzo placed 71st and MacKenzie 92nd, with respective times of 22:06 and 22:15 on the 6K course.

Both Ogilvie and Captain Lindsey Horowitz '12 agreed that the cross country teams "could not have asked for better seasons."

-Compiled by Rachel Gladstone.