It was almost too perfect. A repeat of the NESCAC finals. Tie game—into sudden death overtime. Double overtime. And then, who else but Lindsay McNamara '09, Bowdoin's all-time leading scorer, to end it once and for all, sealing the field hockey team's second consecutive national title—this time against NESCAC rival Tufts.

Things did not start out well for the Polar Bears in the championship game, as the squad allowed a goal in just the second minute of the contest. Less than 90 seconds later, however, the Bears responded. Kara Kelley '10 took a shot that deflected off of the Tufts goalkeeper, but onto the stick of Maddie McQueeney '09 who put it home. A mere eight minutes later, another Kelley rebound found the stick of Shavonne Lord '09 to put Bowdoin ahead, 2-1.

In the second half, the Jumbos were able to score a second goal and knot the game at 2-2. As the clock wound down, the Jumbos continued to exert pressure on the Polar Bears, but Bowdoin's defense held strong, forcing the game into overtime.

As per field hockey rules, once into overtime each side could only play with seven players (as opposed to the usual 11), which upped the tempo and intensity of the match. Both sides had chances, and Bowdoin goalkeeper Emileigh Mercer '09 was force to make a number of saves, including one spectacular diving swat well out from the goal to keep the game tied.

Into the second overtime, Bowdoin first year Katie Herter fired a shot off the Tufts keeper, and McNamara was there to score the golden goal. The win marks back-to-back NCAA titles for the team, as well as Bowdoin's second national championship in school history.

Kelley, McNamara, Mercer and Leah Ferenc '09 were named to the All-Tournament Team, the last three of which were part of a group of eight seniors that made the NCAA Division III Final Four in each of their four years playing for the Polar Bears. McNamara ended her career as the leading all-time Division III NCAA Tournament scorer.