President Barry Mills has appointed a committee charged with devising and implementing a plan for the Bowdoin College campus to become carbon neutral. The appointment comes after Mills signed the American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment last spring.

According to a press release, Mills will work with the committee to develop a plan that builds on the College's previous efforts towards sustainability.

Committe Members:


Kristen Gunther '09

Dan Levis '10


DeWitt John, Shannon Director of Environmental Studies and Senior Lecturer in Government

Madeline Msall, Associate Professor of Physics

David Vail, Adams-Catlin Professor of Economics

Nancy Grant, Educational Technology Consultant

Eileen Johnson, Environmental Studies Program Manager

Catherine Longley, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration & Treasurer, Chair


Bradford Hunter '78

Joan Benoit Samuelson '79